Every Week Has a Weekend

Today is The Plant Lady’s day off!

Matt and I decided to work extra hours throughout the week so that we could take Friday off! I am headed to gram’s for some R&R!

Anyways back to our regularly scheduled program.

Thursday was a slowwwww day since we treated it like Friday. We spent the entire day doing roadside foliar spraying. I drove 3 mph for about 9 hours yesterday and it’s safe to say I don’t want to be driving the slow ever again! Ever! 

Not too many pictures today since I was mostly on the roads but we did find this awesome fungus!! So today you get fungus pseduo-Friday instead of Fern Friday:


It was probably as big as my face! So cool! I’m not sure how to go about identifying this… The Plant Lady is not the Fungus Lady.

They also finally set up the signs for the areas we are working (most of them anyways…) so I wanted to show you this larger patch of the second wistera site. It doesn’t look like much but where the central trees turn into more forest and edge (where the wisteria really takes off) is where we have already treated. The larger kind of mass that is in the middle was a Black Walnut tree that the wistera just took over! We treated it and it’s already looking better!


The little sign say “Black Walnut Plantation Established 1984”

The state forest is made up of particular plantations like these typically they are planted by the governemt specifically for timber harvesting so the trees in the plantations are all very valuable woods. It’s an interesting concept that I didn’t know happened before I started working here!

Over all Thursday was a great imposter of Friday this week.

-The Plant Lady

Day 8

Forest: 5 Rachel: 3

Injuries: -I’ve been icing my shin but this bruise is going to be huge!! Any pressure on it, even just from my socks, is so painful! You can start to see the purply bruise near my ankle on my left shin in the picture below. 

Tick count: 0

Tick total: 2

One thought on “Every Week Has a Weekend

Leave a comment