Work Hard, Play Hard

I spent the weekend with my best friend in Cocoa beach! We went to the cutest brewery Saturday afternoon then rode our bikes to lunch. We watched fireworks from the pier all around some cruise ships (which were HUGE) it was a very nice night. Then Sunday morning we did a 4 mile walk on the beach and headed to brunch and mimosas, yummm.
Then she had the biggest surprise in store for me! We went into Orlando to Disney Springs (which used to be Downtown Disney but they changed the name and it doesn’t make sense)! We of course headed straight to Jock Lindsey’s Hanger Bar. 10 points to the first person to tell me who Jock Lindsey is! We had a drink and some yummy pretzels then walked around and bought some very cute sandals!


I returned to the island (wow that’s fun to type) early Sunday night and watched a movie with my roommates. It was a great weekend. Monday I relaxed with some friends at a pool party which was really nice. I don’t think I’ve been swimming since the summer of 2009!
For the past few days at work I have been working with Becca going on home-owner consultations and maintenance calls. When the snowbirds are away, they can hire us at SCCF to take care of their natively landscaped gardens. We don’t do any mowing or use any power tools since those tend to tear up our native plants a lot easier than small clippers or just our hands, but we can care for a few gardens here and there.

We have visited with each of our 12 home-owners (or their gardens) these few days to make sure things get done before the end of the week. Most of us, not me, are going on vacation near the end of this week and we need to make sure we leave the others in good shape. Becca and I finished all the maintenance and now we’re just helping out around the nursery!

I have been making sure to clean up after myself at the apartment and that includes doing dishes, even if it’s late at night. Last night one of my favorite things happened. I was washing dishes when: 


-The Plant Lady

Leave a comment